jump to navigation

Banana Bread November 12, 2009

Posted by General Zod in Food.
trackback

I returned home from work yesterday afternoon to discover that my house was empty.  A small note rested upon the kitchen table which declared that the wife had taken the daughters out shopping.  I decided to fully embrace this quiet time by relaxing with a cup of coffee and an episode of “Top Gear” off of my DVR.  In the words of Jeremy Clarkson… I have to say that the whole experience was just properly brilliant!

banana_breadAfterwards, I needed to find something to fill my time, so I browsed through the kitchen to see if was feeling inspired enough to prepare dinner before my wife’s return.  What jumped out at me was a bunch of 5 aged and blackened bananas which were screaming to be made into banana bread!  Pulling up my trusty recipe, I set to work immediately.  I did my best to lovingly craft a loaf with a level of attention and affection that would have made Freya blush.

Unfortunately, when my family did return, the wife was a bit cross at me for having the oven engaged… thereby eradicating her dinner plans.  No bother, two pots on the range top and we were having spaghetti in 30 minutes.

However, there wasn’t any complaining from anyone when the banana bread was ready to eat.  You know you’ve got a good recipe when desert time comes around, and the kids are forgoing the ice cream and asking for slices of your oven-warm banana bread. 🙂

If anyone’s interested in trying it out, here’s how I make it:

Banana Bread

Ingredients:

2 cups All-Purpose Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
¼ tsp Salt
½ cup Butter
¾ cup Brown Sugar
2⅓ cups (approximately 5) overripe Bananas (mashed)
2 Eggs (beaten)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F.
  2. Mash your bananas into something resembling baby food.  (I find that pressing out on a plate with a fork works rather well and doesn’t create too much mess.)
  3. Lightly grease a 9×5 loaf pan.
  4. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt.
  5. In your mixer, cream together the butter and brown sugar.
  6. Mix the eggs into the butter mixture one at a time until well blended.
  7. Mix the mashed bananas into butter mixture until well blended.
  8. Add the flour mixture into butter/banana mixture, and mix just enough to moisten.
  9. Pour the mixture into the loaf pan.
  10. Bake for 60 to 65 minutes.
  11. Let the bread cool in the pan for 10 minutes.  Then, turn it out onto a wire rack to continue cooling.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

