jump to navigation

Reboot TV: Space 1999 February 3, 2010

Posted by General Zod in Reboot TV, Sci-Fi, Television.
trackback

Having been a child during the 1970’s and 1980’s, I can honestly say that I was around to witness some of the all-time best that television has ever had to offer.  To be honest, most of today’s TV leaves a lot to be desired… and even the good stuff is usually a re-hash of stuff from yester-year.

However, that is not to say that I’m not a fan of re-imagined television.  I was glued to my TV during the first few years of Battlestar Galactica and the V series premiere.  I don’t always consider myself a purist, and can enjoy a re-imagined show from time to time… especially if it means there’ll be new science fiction to enjoy!

So in keeping in that theme, I got to thinking…

  • What programs would I like to see rebooted?
  • How would I change the show’s premise?
  • Whom would I cast?

So I’ve decided to post a few of my dream Re-Imagined TV wishes, starting with…

Space: 1999

Obviously, we’d need to change this name to keep it set in the “future”.  So we’ll start by changing it to “Space: 2199”.

Also, I think we’re going to be leaving the moon in Earth’s orbit this time around.  The idea that the moon could be ripped from it’s orbit is not beyond reason, but the idea that it’s traveling fast enough to make it between stars from week to week is a little too much for my logic to accept.  And even if it was traveling that fast, I find it highly improbable that the inhabitants would be able to come and go from the moon without getting left behind.

Next, since we don’t need anything to blast the moon out of orbit, I think we’re going to lose the “nuclear waste dumping ground” idea.  If we need to spread things around the moon’s surface, then how about some weapons platforms?  Which bring me to my next thought…

I’d like to see Moon Base Alpha portrayed as both a research station and… “Earth’s first line of defense against alien invasion”!!!  We’d need to invent an ominous alien enemy to pit Earth’s forces against, but that shouldn’t be too difficult.  Of course, we should probably invent a few others while we’re at it.

Throw in a few heated space battles with fast action and plenty of flak, some hand-to-hand combat with a race of spider-people, and a few tongue-in-cheek diplomatic missions to the planet of purple-skinned alien babes… and you’ve got yourself a hit show!!!

So now comes the final question.  Whom should we cast?  This is what I’ve come up with so far…

 

Gary Graham
 gary_graham
as Commander
John Koenig
Mary Lynn Rajskub
mary_lynn_rajskub
as Doctor
Helena Russell
Tom Braidwood
 tom_braidwood
as Professor Victor Bergman
Bobby Cannavalebobby_cannavale
as Security Chief
Tony Verdeschi
Brea Grantbrea_grant
as Maya the polymorph Science Officer
Lee Thompson Young
lee_thompson_young
as Captain Alan Carter, Chief Pilot

 

Stay tuned… I’ve got a few more ideas around this same theme.

Comments»

1. Pirates! Man Your Women! » Blog Archive » A Fine Idea - February 3, 2010

[…] Reboot the Moon. (No Ratings Yet)  Loading … […]

2. Reboot TV: The Greatest American Hero « Useful Glyphs - February 7, 2010

[…] February 7, 2010 Posted by General Zod in Sci-Fi, Television. trackback After my last Reboot TV post, I got to thinking about another old TV favorite of mine… so another re-casting was […]

3. Carlos - March 6, 2011

It sounds more like UFO instead of Space 2199 to me.

General Zod - March 6, 2011

I never saw UFO, was that any good? Is it worth time on my Netflix subscription?

4. Michael Dudley - May 17, 2011

Alternately, I think it would be interesting to have the moon ripped from orbit around the earth…and then drift through the solar system for the entire series,with Alphans exploring both the outer planets and their moons. The series would then be able to get into what such isolation and doom (never being able to return to Earth) would actually do to a group of people.


Leave a Reply

