jump to navigation

Cannot Increase ESX Datastore July 27, 2010

Posted by General Zod in Tech, VMware.
trackback

It’s been a long time since I’ve experienced any noteworthy technical issues to talk about.  However, I ran into the following problem this morning… so I thought I’d give it a mention.

One of my VMware datacenters has 3 stand-alone ESX Hosts which are used exclusively for project development.  These 3 Hosts are NOT clustered, but they do share 2 common datastores.

Someone on one of the development teams is currently doing some testing with a couple of VMs that are hosting SMS… and each has 4 to 5 different VMDKs of varying sizes which sum up to approximately 250 GB per Host.  (It’s insane… but it’s development, so what are you going to do?!)

increase_datastore_capacity_blank Well, I needed to expand the size of both datastores this morning, so I had our SAN folks present a few additional LUNs to the Host servers. After rescanning the Storage Adapters, I could see the new LUNs with no problem.  However, when I went to Increase the size of one of the datastores, I could not see any of them in the window.

I found it stranger still when I experienced the same issue after scanning the Storage Adapters on all 3 ESX Hosts, and attempted to expand the datastores from the Storage configuration of each Host.

Now I have absolutely no idea why this issue came about, and I still don’t.  For all I know, a simple bounce of the ESX Hosts may resolve this issue… but I can’t confirm because I haven’t done that yet.

However, I did work around the problem.  All I did was to login to the VI Client directly against one of the ESX Hosts using the ROOT account.  From there, I was able to see the new LUNs and expand the size of my datastores successfully.

Comments»

1. Jimm Chen - June 23, 2011

Thank you. I encounter the exact problem on ESX4.1(in turn running inside VMware Workstation 7.1) with managing vCenter 4.1 . Directly operate on the ESX host lets me see the newly add SCSI harddisk.

chjfth

2. test - February 20, 2012

thank you…i appreciate a lot your help…
on vmware community there isnt any answer for this issue…
have a good day…byeee..

3. Jimmyz - March 29, 2012

Thank You, I spend ages trying to get to the bottom of this issue and your post saved me!!

4. Christian Boehnke - April 25, 2012

Thank you, you’re post is still relevant after almost 2 years, and on ESX5/vsphere5. Connected VI client to single host directly and was able to grow my (FC attached) datastore.

5. James F. Prudente - February 18, 2014

Thanks, just ran into this on ESXi 5.1 and your solution worked. Much appreciated.

6. whale - July 5, 2014

this worked on ESXi 5.1
thank you


Leave a Reply

