jump to navigation

Finding vacant FM frequencies in your area October 28, 2010

Posted by General Zod in Books, Music.
trackback

I really enjoy listening to audiobooks while I’m driving.  About a decade ago, I started listening to audiobooks in the car and I honestly have rarely listened to the radio since then.  Until very recently, I carried around a thick CD case which I kept filled to capacity with books (which usually meant I had 2 or 3 books in the car with me).

creative_zen_mozaic_ez300 Later, about two years ago, I decided to “backup” all of my audiobook CDs to MP3 files, and listen to them on my Creative Zen Mozaic EZ300 while doing other things.  So now I could listen to my books while running or whatever.  It was brilliant!

My final step in this evolution was to eliminate the CDs from my car.  (Let’s be honest, a CD can only play for about an hour before you’ll be fishing around for the next one… and that can be rather distracting from your driving.)  So I decided to start shopping around for an FM Transmitter.

satechi_soundfly_sd There’s a wide array of FM Transmitters available these days, but they’re all pretty much equally as lame as the one before them.  However, I do find them to be a nice addition to my audiobook listening.  After some debate, I finally settled on purchasing a Satechi Soundfly SD FM Transmitter.  Now, instead of having to change the CD every hour, I setup an entire book into a playlist on my MP3 player, plug it into my FM Transmitter, hit [Play], and let the book continue on until it reaches it’s own conclusion.

However, there is still one challenge to overcome… finding a vacant FM frequency!  I had spent many months using the Columbus method (search & discover) of finding available FM frequencies (which is harder than you’d think!).  Mainly, I could just spin the dial until I found a “dead spot”… and then adjust my transmitter to that frequency.

There had to be a better way… because there always is!  So I’d set myself down in front of Google, and started throwing searches at it.  What I eventually found was a page off of Belkin’s website.

The Belkin’s “My Best FM” site is a search engine to help you find the best FM dead spots in your area.  Just enter your Zip Code and State, and it will return 3 lists of the best FM frequencies to set your radio and your FM transmitter to, so as to avoid interference or crosstalk from actual broadcast stations.  Why 3 lists?  Well… the FM frequencies returned are organized for you as your Best, 2nd Best, and 3rd Best options.  It’s not an infallible solution, but it does give you a nice starting point!

Enjoy.

Comments»

1. General Zod - April 17, 2014

Well… it seems that Belkin has taken down their FM frequency search engine and replaced it with a store page. Lame! So I’ll recommend this site as an alternative!
http://radio-locator.com/cgi-bin/vacant


Leave a Reply

