jump to navigation

VMware VDP Error 10058 April 17, 2014

Posted by Chad in Backup, Tech, VMware.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Occasionally I’ll start getting VMs that stop getting backed up using VDP 5.5.  They won’t even attempt a backup the next day either.  I’ll kick off an immediate backup which immediately fails, with the error:

An unexpected error occurred with the following error code:  10058.  More information may be available in the client logs which can be downloaded from the configuration application.


I’ve tried a few different fixes for the problem, but oddly enough, the best fix I’ve found for the problem is IT Rule #1:  “Have you tried turning it off and on again?”  I completely shut down the VM, not just a restart.  Then I’ll turn it back on again.  After that, kicking off the backup job has been successful.

Comments»

1. Bruno Camara - May 22, 2015

Thanks for your help! It works for me on VDP 5.8🙂


Leave a Reply

